Leave a comment

Danny ‘Boy’ Hughes reflects on his comeback and future

SAM_3048

On April 19 Sunderland heavyweight prospect Danny ‘Boy’ Hughes returned after over 18 months out of the ring during the co-promoted show from Phil Jeffries and Frank Maloney.

Hughes won on points 40-36 after a comfortable four rounds with Czech fighter Ladislav Kovarik. The bout was on the undercard of Loaded and Ready, which was topped by the British title fight between Jon-Lewis Dickinson and Mike Stafford. We hear from Danny about that fight and about his future.

1) How happy were you with the win?

I was happy with the win I felt I could of finished it earlier but I was just glad to be back fighting.

 
2) Were you happy with the performance?

I was comfortable in there and didn’t really get out of first gear. But after being out for a year and a half, and with the opponent just being there to survive, I felt it was an okay performance.

 
3) Are you disappointed at all to not get a stoppage?

Yeah I was pretty disappointed I didn’t get out of first gear, but I hurt him in the first round and he didn’t want to know after that.

 
4) You did catch him with a good few shots though didn’t you?

Yeah I caught him with some good solid single shots but he was very good at surviving so I found it difficult to get the combinations in to finish the job.

 
5) Was their any rust there at all then after all the time out?

Yeah I felt a little rusty but I’m sure I’ll be back to myself in my next fight.

 

 

6) How tricky was Ladislav Kovarik?

He was never a threat but these fighters are good survivors and that made him pretty tricky.

 

7) Was it a relief to be back in action?

I was glad to be back and I can’t wait to see when my next fight will be!

 

8) Is staying active important for you now you’re back?

Staying active is a very important part of boxing and I intend to stay as active as possible till I retire.

9) When are you hoping to be back out?

I’m hoping to get out within the next 2 months.

 

10) Phil Jeffries has announced his annual Summer Rumble show for July 7th at The Stadium Of Light. Would you like to be on that bill?

I would love to get on the stadium show I had my first ever pro fight there 6 year ago [A 4th round TKO win over Lee Webb].

 

The future looks bright for Hughes and before the fight he said that he’d be dissapointed if he didn’t get at least a British title. If he can stay active, he certainly has the quality.

Keep it with Wearboxing for all future news on Danny Hughes and all North East boxers!

Leave a Reply

