Leave a comment

Kirk Goodings staying active

kirk2

It may only be a little over a week since Sunderland’s Kirk Goodings made his homecoming but already he has been announced for two future bills.

Goodings returned from his time in London training with Tunde Ajayi at the famous Peacock Gym and was straight out on Phil Jeffries’ Loaded and Ready show. He returned with a four-round points win over Youssef Al Himidi.

His time in London may have been valuable experience but it was always marred by a lack of fights. His return North then has been totally the opposite with Jeffries announcing this week that Kirk will fight in Scarborough on May 11 and then in July on the Summer Rumble 4 bill.

The Scarborough show on May 11 was announced this week and will be topped by the return of Frank Maloney’s hot-prospect Danny Price.

The Summer Rumble will of course also be the fourth time Jeffries has hosted the annual summer event which for the last two years, and again this year, will be at the Stadium Of Light – home to Sunderland AFC.

Kirk said of staying active: “It’s great to be fighting on home turf back infront of my fans and staying active building up my profile and fan base.  I’m fighting May 11 too and then Summer Rumble.

“It’s great to be this active as I’m knocking on the door of titles so staying active is very important. By the end of 2013 I want to have a title and be ready for a British title.”

It has been a good period in Kirk’s career despite the fact that he has had only nine fights. His only loss came at the hands of Steve Williams but he actually gained great exposure after his brave performance. Now returning to winning ways against Hamidi proves Kirk is going in the right direction.

“I was really pleased to get back to winning ways.” Kirk said, “It means that my career can keep carrying on. I was pleased with my performance, although I couldn’t pin him down long enough to land heavy combinations.

“But if it had been a longer fight I think he would of slowed down and I’d of caught him a lot more. I’m a very versatile boxer and I can fight to which ever way is needed to beat the opponent infront of me.”

The Hamidi fight was also the first time Kirk had new trainer Shaun Casey in his corner but Kirk said that they worked really well together and having a new trainer didn’t affect him.

Now both Kirk and Shaun will be looking to push on in a busy couple of months that could see the young Sunderland light-welterweight move closer to his first title.

Leave a Reply

