Leave a comment

Jon-Lewis Dickinson ready for Stafford defence

390186_485207611542432_1960161045_n

Birtley’s cruiserweight British champion Jon-Lewis Dickinson has said he is fully prepared to defend his title against Mike Stafford.

Tonight (April 19) Dickinson makes the second defence of his Lonsdale belt, topping the Loaded And Ready bill at the Rainton Meadows Arena. The event is co-promoted by Phil Jeffries and Frank Maloney.

Dickinson said of the fight: “It’s brilliant to be headlining another big show in the North East and I’m looking forward to fighting in front of the North East fans again.

“There was a brilliant atmosphere last time [points victory over David Dolan] so hopefully it’ll be the same if not better.”

Yesterday both Dickinson and Stafford weighed in with Dickinson holding a height advantage over his opponent – who is a former ABA finalist.

Dickinson told Wearboxing that he hadn’t studied the Southport boxer but he has trained well for the event and will work his opponent out in the opening rounds. He is confident he’ll get the win.

“I’m confident all the time. I’m not a negative person anyway but I do feel I should beat him. Obviously I treat every opponent the same and I put the same work in for every fight.

“I’ve got to work just as hard as every fight because if I didn’t it could easily slip away. I’m going to go out there and hopefully get the win, I really believe I can do.”

Stafford’s last fight was in March but was only a four rounder against journeyman Simeon Cover. He’s done just ten rounds only once, 12 months ago when he beat Martyn Grainger to capture the International Masters title.

Dickinson believes his experience of good opponents and longer distances could be the difference.

His last fight with Sunderland’s David Dolan was testimant to his fitness and durability when he won a tight contest on points.

He said of the fight: “The fight with Davey was brilliant. It was the type of tough fight that I like, in your face for 12 rounds. Davey’s a tough lad and I landed a lot of hurtful shots but he got through it.

“Because of that though I know I can go at a high pace for 12 rounds and that is one of the things I hold over Stafford.”

The fight will be screened live on Loaded TV, Sky freeview channel 200. It will headline a packed bill at the Rainton Meadows Arena where tickets will be available on the door at £35 or £70 ringside.

Leave a Reply

