1 Comment

Dixon delighted with win and looking to climb rankings

Craig Dixon after his last fight seven months ago.

Craig Dixon after his last fight seven months ago.

Craig Dixon was delighted to move to 7-0 last Friday and now wants to climb the rankings in the welterweight division.

The Birtley Bullet, a nickname given because of his speed and accuracy, beat previously 1-0 unbeaten Marek Laskowski at the Rainton Meadows Arena. It was the second time Dixon had beaten an undefeated fighter in his already flourishing career.

Craig boxes under the name Robert and was featuring on the Supremacy undercard, headlined by stable-mate Jon-Lewis Dickinson’s defence of his British cruiserweight title against David Dolan.

Laskowski, Polish-born and now boxing out of Aberdeen, Scotland, was somewhat of an unknown coming in after only one previous fight with Jason Nesbitt to go on.

Both started slowly as they worked each other out with Dixon’s strong jab making him the busier boxer.

The second round was much the same with Dixon in control but not throwing enough. Marek’s best moment of the bout also came in the second as he landed a strong left hook.

Dixon took control in the third though once he started throwing more and showed great variety, skill and shot selection. By the end of his first ever six rounder his opponent’s face was badly swollen and Dixon had done enough to take all rounds in a 60-54 decision.

Craig said: “I was happy with the win and I thought it was a good performance against a decent opponent. I was happy to get my first six rounder in the bag and I thought I got better as the fight went on.

“I hadn’t boxed for seven months so it was good to get back in there and put in a good performance in front of my home crowd. I thought my opponent came to win the fight and he started confidently but I think I broke him down and sickened him as the fight went on. ”

Dixon still trains with amateur coach Ronnie Rowe, with whom he enjoyed an incredible amateur career, including fighting for Great Britain at the European Championships.

He had a few days off training but is back in the gym now and hoping for a busy year. He is hoping to climb the welterweight rankings to potentially lead him into a 2014 title shot.

He said: “It was important for me to keep my unbeaten record as I look to move through the welterweight rankings in 2013.

“I hope to stay busy and get more chances to impress on big shows in the North East. I am having a few days off training before getting back in the gym and I will be looking to get another fight lined up in either April or May.”

Frankie Gavin is the current British champion and Lee Purdy holds the English.

One comment on “Dixon delighted with win and looking to climb rankings

  1. It is always fun to know about Boxing 🙂 http://pakproboxing.wordpress.com . If you enjoy boxing, I am sure you would appreciate http://pakproboxing.wordpress.com or http://p-p-b-l.blogspot.com/

Leave a Reply

