1 Comment

Archer was below average but pleased to win

Paul Archer after winning last July at the Summer Rumble.

Paul Archer after winning last July at the Summer Rumble.

Easington’s rising welterweight star Paul Archer admitted his performance was below average on the under card at Supremacy, but is delighted to have won and remain unbeaten.

Archer, now 7-0, defeated Kevin McCauley (11-48-3) on the impressive Frank Maloney and Phil Jeffries co-promoted bill that featured Jon-Lewis Dickinson beating David Dolan to defend his British Cruiserweight title.

Archer won 58-57 on the referee’s scorecard and was made to work very hard by the experienced Brighton boxer at the Rainton Meadows Arena on Friday night.

Archer said: “I was very pleased to get the win and keep my unbeaten record but I think Friday was a bad day at the office. McCauley came to spoil and use dirty tactics, but I think I did enough clean work to deserve the win.

“He was definitely a potential banana skin and he is a lot better than his record suggests. It was a big occasion and I’m pleased to win but it wasn’t the best performance to make people sit up and notice me.”

Each round was very tight and hard to score as Archer failed to control as he would have been expected to.

The problem he faced was trying to get close to the rangier fighter who would usually battle at light-middleweight, something Paul thinks showed.

“I want to work on my inside fighting because I naturally try to keep it long and use straight shots. I think improving my inside fighting would add something more to my repotoire and would have helped me there.

“As I said though he was a potential banana skin and came with a plan to spoil. If I hadn’t done that I think I would have dominated using my skill. I came through even with a below average performance though.”

Getting on the inside was certainly Archer’s problem but as he say’s it wasn’t always his fault.

In the rounds where he did look to get inside, McCauley grabbed and tussled a lot, twice causing Archer to fall to the canvas. He was warned on numerous occasions by the official.

The Easington man, competing in his first 6x3s, had his best round in the fifth when he caught, and hurt, McCauley with a big right hook to the jaw. He then put pressure on his staggered opponent as he covered up against the ropes, eventually being saved by the bell.

Archer survives this below par performance but if that was the first time you saw this talented young boxer, it would be advised that you didn’t judge him on that, and you go and see him again.

Archer himself said: “anyone who knows me or has seen me box before knows that was not the real me. I’m confident in myself though and I believe it wont be long until my name is on everyone’s lips!”

Archer went straight back to the gym as he looks to stay active in 2013. He is looking at local shows in March and April because he can’t afford and doesn’t want top have huge gaps between each fight.

One comment on “Archer was below average but pleased to win

  1. It is always fun to know about Boxing 🙂 http://pakproboxing.wordpress.com . If you enjoy boxing, I am sure you would appreciate http://pakproboxing.wordpress.com or http://p-p-b-l.blogspot.com/

Leave a Reply

