1 Comment

Peter Cope excited for North East derby clash with David Lake

CopeLake

Hartlepool’s rising boxing star Peter Cope is in action tonight in an intriguing match up with South Shields’ David Lake.

The bout has ‘fight of the night’ written all over it and is expected to be a fierce clash between the two friends outside of the ring. The two are putting friendship aside tonight though and Peter is looking forward to getting back in the ring.

The fight is expected to be shown live on Loaded TV (Sky channel 200) and for both boxers it is a big chance to impress and the Hartlepool man is looking to do just that.

“I’m very confident and I can’t wait to get back in the ring now,” Peter said. “Training has gone well but it always does. I am a fitness fanatic and I get addicted to training when I have fights. I’m starting to learn when to rest my body as well though, which is important.”

Lake is trained by Mal Gates who also trains Anthony Nelson (who fights too) and Sunderland’s Lee Mould (not featuring). One thing is guaranteed with Mal’s fighters and that is that they will always put on a great show and they will always come in in fantastic shape.

Lake may have lost his last two but they were both against good opposition and Mal revealed that in training David had been hitting harder than ever.

Cope said: “I hope this fight will live up to the hype it has got. I always seem to be in good fights as I always come to fight and so does David, so it could be a cracker.

“I think David will come and try to take me out of my rhythm but I wont let that happen. I can outbox David and out-fight him. No matter how the fight plans out, I’ll adapt.”

Peter’s previous fights have always proven exciting as he has moved to 6-0. He was due to fight in Hartlepool at the end of September last year  on the under card of Martin Ward’s English title fight, but unfortunately injury forced Peter out.

He is back and injury free now, but he has not boxed since July where he survived a ninth round knockdown to beat Redcar’s Gavin Reid on points over 10. That fight was for the International Masters super-bantamweight title but Cope has since vacated that and is ready to start again to get another title.

But will the friendship of the two boxers affect Peter in this fight? He thinks not.

“We are friends and we have helped each other with sparring a few times in the past. We shook hands at the press conference but when the bell goes we wont be friends. I have to win this fight to continue my development.”

As always Peter’s fans, who call themselves the ‘barmy army’, will be out in force and will surely want to make themselves heard live on television. Of course, that kind of support can’t harm Cope’s chances of securing bigger fights in the future as well.

Peter ended by saying: “I just want to thank everyone for the support. As always the barmy army are fantastic and I say, may the best man win!”

Tickets are available from the door tonight priced at £35. Doors open at 6pm with the first bout penned for 7pm. Coverage starts on Loaded TV at 9:30pm.

One comment on “Peter Cope excited for North East derby clash with David Lake

  1. It is always fun to know about Boxing 🙂 http://pakproboxing.wordpress.com . If you enjoy boxing, I am sure you would appreciate http://pakproboxing.wordpress.com or http://p-p-b-l.blogspot.com/

Leave a Reply

