Leave a comment

Craig Dixon continuing progression towards title

Craig Dixon after his last fight with William Warburton.

Craig Dixon after his last fight with William Warburton.

Birtley Bullet Craig Dixon continues his progression towards his first boxing title tonight as he steps up to six rounds on the under card of Jon-Lewis Dickinson’s British title defence against David Dolan.

Dixon, who boxes under the name Robert, is 6-0 and matched up against unbeaten 1-0 fighter Marek Laskowski tonight at the Rainton Meadows Arena and thinks this could be the fight that takes him closer to a title.

“I’m very confident going into this fight. Training has gone well and I’ve had a lot of sparring too. I think it will be a good fight as he is unbeaten too and he is the second unbeaten fighter that I have faced.

It is therefore another chance for me to prove how good I am and put a good performance in. I am happy to be stepping up to six rounds as well because that is a step closer to winning titles.”

Winning titles is what Craig wants too. He says he hopes to win or be in contention to challenge for the Northern Area title by the end of the year and says his goal is to eventually box for the English and British title.

This is a big chance for Dixon to impress. The former Birtley amateur still trains with his amateur coach Ronnie Rowe, who is also the coach of the British cruiserweight champion headlining tonight’s show. He said of his coaching team:

“My trainers are Ronnie Rowe and Gary Barr. I was coached by Ronnie in the amateurs so he knows my style and knows how to get the best out of me. Gary has boxed at the top-level as an amateur and he has a lot of experience.

They work well together and have just brought Martin Nugent in for strength and conditioning coaching which is working well. I feel I have got a good team around me which I think is very important in the pro’s.”

He also added that Nugent’s inclusion to the team was really helping him and that he is vital to Craig’s progression to the longer fights.

For the Gateshead-born boxer tonight it is also a chance to get back in the ring after a period of inactivity. He has not boxed since July last year where he beat William Warburton on points.

Craig said: “I have not fought for a few months and I am eager to get back in and impress on a big show in the North East. It has been a frustrating time waiting to fight but nothing seemed to come off for me so I am taking this fight as an opportunity to show my ability and impress people. I love boxing in the North East because it gives me a chance to build on my local fan-base.”

Doors open at 6pm tonight with boxing expected to start at 7pm. Tickets are still available on the door priced at £35 and coverage starts on Loaded TV, Sky channel 200 at 9:30pm.

Leave a Reply

