Leave a comment

David Dolan hoping it’s third time lucky

20130214-141801.jpg
Sunderland cruiserweight David Dolan gets a third crack At the British title
tomorrow as he challenges old foe Jon-Lewis Dickinson at the Rainton Meadows Arena.

The 2002 Commonwealth gold medalist has found life tough since turning over to the paid ranks and came up short twice against Rob Norton for the title now held by his Birtley rival.

David, though, is defiant about claims that defeat could mean retirement: “People have said this is my third and final chance because I’m 33 now but I think it’s one of them things where I won’t know until after the performance.

“It’s no good saying I’m going to retire if I don’t win because it depends how I perform. When I feel I can’t do it anymore, then I’ll hang my gloves up but at the minute I feel I can still do it so all I’m thinking about is giving this my best shot.”

David did agree though that the promise he’d shown as an amateur hadn’t quite carried through into the professional side of the sport.

Since turning over David has amassed a respectable 16-4-1 record. The draw came in his second fight and chance at Rob Norton’s British title. Although the judges scored it a draw just about every other spectator that night had the Sunderland boxer winning comfortably.

David said of his career: “It just doesn’t seemed to have happened for me as a pro. Firstly there was Prizefighter where I got to the final but took a heavy shot in an earlier round and was a little concussed.

“In the final against Martin Rogan I got knocked down but thought I was winning that fight easily. Then in the last round he pushed me down but that got given as a knockdown so unless I got a knockout there was just no coming back from that.”

“Then came my two title shots at Norton,” continued Dolan. “I thought I was unlucky to lose the first but in the second there is just no doubt in my mind I won that fight. So yeah, the pros haven’t been great to me but I’m hoping that changes on Friday!”

The match is Dickinson’s first defence of his newly acquired title that he won after defeating Shane McPhilbin for the title that was vacant. David is not a mandatory challenger, instead the Birtley boxer has chose this North East clash himself and it is something the challenger is very grateful of.

“I am very grateful Jon has chosen to defend against me because I didn’t have anything on the cards. Obviously he beat me in 2011 and has since gone on to bigger and better things so I’m hoping I can turn it around this time.

“There wasn’t much in the first fight we had and on a different night I could have got the decision but that’s in the past now. I just hope I can put in a good performance on Friday and take the belt, I know I am capable!”

Doors open at the arena at 6pm and tickets are still available from Phil Jeffries priced at £35.

Leave a Reply

