Leave a comment

Jon-Lewis Dickinson ready for first defence of British title

Dolan and Dickinson square off before their last fight in 2011.

Dolan and Dickinson square off before their last fight in 2011.

Birtley’s British cruiserweight champion Jon-Lewis Dickinson is ready for war as he prepares to square off against old foe David Dolan on Friday.

The pair meet for a second time after Dickinson previously beat Dolan in 2011 but this time it’s for Dickinson’s newly acquired British title, which he won when he beat Shane McPhilbin in October for the vacant title.

The champion says training has gone well and he feels good and confident ahead of the highly anticipated rematch in what is his first defence of his title.

This isn’t a mandatory challenge but rather Jon-Lewis has chosen to defend against Sunderland’s Dolan and explained the reason for that saying:

“We’re both North East lads and this is a really big fight for the North East scene. Why give anyone else a crack when Davey’s sat there and he’s such a good fighter. I think he deserves the shot and I thought we should get it on again.

“This has been my plan since turning professional. I wanted to win the British title and then headline a show back in the North East and this is what’s happening now, it’s great.”

Dickinson also notes that this is a big chance for a lot of the local lads who will box on the undercard and he explains that he cares a lot about North East Boxing.

The two obviously have history after their very tight encounter in 2011 on Phil Jeffries’ Summer Rumble bill. The points win came at an important time for Dickinson.

After winning Prizefighter, the Birtley boxer carried injuries into his next two fights against Tyrone Wright and Richard Turba and lost both.

He explained: “After losing those two fights I got offered the fight with David and I could have easily turned that down in favour of some warm up fights to rebuild my confidence.

“I’m not in this sport to mess around though and I knew I was good enough, so I took that fight knowing a win would put me back to where I was before the two defeats.”

Indeed it did. Since their first clash Dickinson has fought three times beating Chris Burton (TKO2), then Matty Askin (UD over 10 for the English title), leading into his British title shot where he beat McPhilbin.

In contrast, Dolan has fought just twice but both over only four rounds against unflattering opponents (Tayer Mehmed and Simeon Cover). No fault of David’s though, the fights just haven’t come for him.

“The experience I’ve had since then could work in my favour. I do think I’m a better boxer now then when we fought first time but lets not forget David has fought twice before for this title. I think he should have won both times,” Dickinson said.

He then continued to say: “I learnt a lot from my recent fights and going distances was good because until the Dolan fight I’d only ever gone four rounds at the most. I know David will come for a fight, which I’m looking forward to, and I just want to show I’m a better fighter now.”

Leave a Reply

