Leave a comment

Akash Hussein excited for ‘biggest fight of his career’

Boxing promoter Steve Wraith has rewarded boxing fans with a pearl of a fight on his November 24th bill at the O2 Academy, Newcastle, when Akash Hussein takes on local debutant Paul O’Hagan.

North East fight fans will have a rare opportunity to watch two home fighters go toe-to-toe in what should be an intriguing battle, and one which the favourite, Hussein, is calling the biggest of his career so far.

Hussein is an experienced boxer and former protegé of Tyneside’s former world champion Glenn McCrory. He was a successful amateur winning an ABA title and representing England and after coming back from an eye injury he won his last professional fight on the top of Wraith’s last bill.

O’Hagan on the other hand is making his professional debut, but that has not stopped ‘Cash’ from training hard.

“This is a very exciting fight for me and it’s the biggest of my career so far so I have worked very hard for it. I’m feeling good now after good preparation and I am counting down the days.”

Part of his training was an interesting week in Sheffield training at the famous Ingle gym where he sparred with top quality boxers including undefeated British heavyweight Richard Towers who is promoted by Ricky Hatton.

Akash said of the experience: “It was great for my development. For me just to go down there was something new and great experience for me sparring with quality opposition. I got great tips from Brendan, John and Dominic Ingle and the whole experience has really built up my confidence and given me a buzz.

“To go there and spar with champions has taken me to another level I think and my coach Paul Charters has worked very hard for me. In Newcastle i was also sparring with David Ferguson, who tops the bill and is a heavyweight so I have worked really hard for this fight and I am not taking it lightly.”

Hussein is moving up to Cruiserweight the fight after his last bout was at light heavyweight and he revealed that he feels a lot more comfortable at this weight.

“I’ve been a cruiserweight all my career. I won the ABA’s at this weight and I just fell comfortable now. I had to really push myself to make light heavyweight and it really drained my energy. In the last fight I knew I could have been better; even though I got the win I didn’t feel like myself, so this time there can be no excuses.

“This was my own choice to move up and I feel better already. I feel fitter and a lot more powerful and I also feel quicker because I have a lot more energy.”

The 20 year-old boxer doesn’t know much about his opponent but says he has seen videos on Youtube and thinks that this 4×3 minute rounds clash will be very interesting for the fans.

“This is a good chance for me to prove what level I’m at. I have a plan A and a plan B going in but I don’t like to talk about what I’m going to do because it is just talk and I prefer to walk the walk. I think I will win though because I have the ability and the boxing skills but I know he will come out and try to knock me out.

“It’ll be an interesting atmosphere as there’ll be my crowd and his crowd as we’re both from Newcastle and I think it will be electric. This fight could have definitely topped the bill.”

Tickets are still available for the night of boxing which will also include David Ferguson in his last professional fight as well as Sunderland’s Lee Mould in his third pro outing.

All boxers have tickets to sell and Akash said if anyone would like tickets they can call him on 07599999903.

Leave a Reply

