Leave a comment

Waqas wants the ‘0’ for as long as possible

Middlesbrough’s 3-0 flyweight Mohammed Waqas has revealed that he wants to keep his unbeaten record for as long as possible and wants to keep winning to get into title contention.

Waqas made his professional debut in April this year and recently won his third consecutive bout on the undercard of Phil Jeffries’ promoted show where Martin Ward beat Jason Booth for the English bantamweight title.

Waqas will next fight in Darlington on November 16th on the undercard of Stuart Hall’s Commonwealth title challenge.

“I can’t wait to fight in Darlington,” Waqas said. “I’m already back in the gym training hard following my last fight. I’m now just hoping to keep my record with an 0 on the loss column for as long as possible because there aren’t many flyweights in Britain so hopefully if I can keep winning then it may not be long before I can start to think about challenging for titles.”

Waqas’ opponent for his November slot is as of yet not announced but that shouldn’t matter to Waqas and shouldn’t affect his preparation as his last opponent came in as a complete unknown.

Stoke’s Brett Fidoe was making his debut against the Middlesbrough boxer so there was little for him to prepare from. Fidoe proved a tricky opponent and showed real fighting spirit throughout the fight, proving wholeheartedly that he came to get a win.

Waqas’ class prevailed over the four rounds though as he weathered the storm of the fighter to use his impressive speed, movement and skill to take a 39-37 points decision.

Waqas said of the fight: “I was buzzing to get the win. I thought I boxed alright but could have boxed a lot better. Fidoe was tricky and I couldn’t do a lot against him because he just kept coming in close and grabbing on; I don’t think I have shown the fans my true potential yet.”

Waqas started his career in the paid ranks under the tutelage of Imran Naeem at Stockton but has since gone back to his amateur coach Denis Power, with whom he had a lot of success. Waqas was an accomplished amateur at South Bank taking national novice and Youth Tri Nations honours and a Senior ABA light-flyweight runner-up spot.

However, back-to-back controversial defeats to highly rated Spennymoor boxer Joel Spragg meant Waqas became disillusioned with life in the amateur side of the sport and even considered quitting before turning over.
Waqas explained the coach change saying: “I was with Imran Naeem down at Stockton and he was a really good coach he helped me work more on my technique but I’ve gone back to Denis Power now at South Bank. Denis has been my coach since I started boxing and ever since I left him I’ve never felt the same in training so I thought I needed to go back. He’s a class coach; one of the best in the country I’d say, he has a lot of experience and he’s produced champions for years. Hopefully with his experience and my hard work we’ll get somewhere far.”
Power’s protegé rounded up saying: “I’d like to say a big thanks to everyone whose involved in the run up leading to the fights and a big thanks to all the people who come out of their way to come support me time and time again. It really is much appreciated and hopefully I’ll be able to repay them by winning a title sometime soon.”
Leave a Reply

