Leave a comment

Glenn Foot delighted to be back and looking toward British title

Sunderland’s Glenn Foot made a fantastic return to boxing on Sunday at Phil Jeffries’ Summer Rumble 2.

Foot had been absent from the ring since last October after trouble with the law caused the BBBofC to withdraw his licence.

Glenn and promoter Phil Jeffries were both delighted to find that the licence had been reinstated though, with enough time to find a good opponent for what was his seventh professional fight.

The Marley Potts boxer was matched up against Coventry’s James Flinn whose record before the fight stood at ten wins and only three defeats.

On paper then it looked like an intriguing battle for the unbeaten star in his comeback but Foot wasted little time in reminding everyone why he is so highly thought of. Glenn won with a third round stoppage, which was one of only two stoppages on the whole 15-strong card.

Glenn said: “My opponent was very good and without doubt he came to win. He’s awkward and he’s fought in a couple of title eliminaters it was a tricky fight and I am really happy to be back and winning.

“There was a bit of ring rust but obviously I’ve been out for quite a while so that was expected. I managed to get him out in three rounds though so I was more than happy with that. I would have been happy with a points win so the stoppage was just a nice bonus really.”

The stoppage was a real bonus for Glenn  and sent a real message to his rivals in the light-welterweight division.

Flinn was also a victim of former Prizefighter champion Adil Anwar who is one win from being next in line for a shot at Darren Hamilton’s British title. The difference between Anwar’s victory though is that it took eight rounds as opposed to three.

After such a thrilling and aggressive performance on Sunday Glenn is now hoping to put himself in the mix for a British title shot.

“I’ve got that first fight back out the way so all the nerves are gone now. If I can get a few six rounds, eight rounds and then ten rounds in I should only be a couple of fights off challenging for an English or British title, then we’ll see where we go from there. I’ll fight anybody now I know I’m capable of beating anybody but I want to be patient and wait till my body is ready.

“That is why I was happy with my opponent on Sunday. I don’t want to fight journeymen, I want to fight people who will take me some rounds and who I can learn from. I want to box decent fighters with decent records so I can come up through the rankings.”

Glenn is not resting on his victory either. He will be straight back into the gym this week and says he cant wait to be back out whenever his manager can get him on another show.

This wasn’t the only big light-welterweight fight of the weekend though. Early hours of Sunday morning Amir Khan was shocked in his title unification fight with Danny Garcia in Las Vegas and Glenn joked: “I’ve just saw the Khan fight there and he didn’t half get caught with a good shot. Mind you I think  could take him. If Garcia can knock him out, I know I can for sure!”

Based on Glenn’s power and aggression on Sunday this reporter certainly doesn’t disagree!

Leave a Reply

