Leave a comment

Sunderland’s David Dolan keeps title hopes alive

Cruiserweight David Dolan kept up his hopes of a Northern derby rematch with Jon-Lewis Dickinson after a dominant victory yesterday.

Dolan defeated Simeon Cover on points, winning all four rounds at the Phil Jeffries Summer Rumble 2 event at the Stadium of Light.

Last year at Summer Rumble, Dolan was defeated by his rival Jon-Lewis Dickinson in a Northern Area title fight and since then the Tyneside fighter has gone on to bigger things.

After winning the English title comprehensively over Matty Askin, Dickinson is expected to fight Shane McPhilbin for the British title; recently vacated by Enzo Maccarinelli. Dolan is hoping for the winner, which could mean a mouth-watering rematch with his Northern cruiserweight rival.

“It looks like the British title will be sown up until about October I think.” said Dolan, “It looks like Mcphilbin and Dickinson will go at it for the title and hopefully I’ll get the winner of that. I’ve had a couple of disappointments in title fights. In particular against Rob Naughton, there is no doubt in my mind I won that fight but obviously I can’t do anything about that decision now. I just I hope I get the chance again and I’ll do my best and hopefully I’ll get the decision this time.”

Dolan did himself no harm yesterday after winning convincingly against a very tricky opponent in London-born Simeon Cover.

The Sunderland boxer dominated every round, boxing sensibly behind the jab and conceding little to Cover.

Dolan said: “I was happy to get the win. He was a tricky opponent but I got a decent win and I think it was pretty one-sided. He was a big lad and he threw the odd haymaker in so I just had to be careful and box clever.

“I would have liked to have went for the stoppage a bit more but I wasn’t really standing in range because he was throwing them big shots now and again. If it went more rounds I have no doubt I would have got the stoppage because he was starting to tire.

“Obviously after what happened last time at the Stadium of Light it was nice to get the win. I haven’t watched it back which I would like to do because I am very self-critical of my performances but I do feel it was one-sided. I think I only got caught with one body shot all fight so I’ve got to be pleased with that.”

Dolan was added late to the huge 15 fight bill because he was due to fight in Italy for an international title only for the show to be cancelled. Although that was disappointing he revealed he was happy just to fight.

“It was disappointing that the fight in Italy fell through. The opponent would have been a lot higher standard and that would have been better for me going forward looking towards a British title shot but at the end of the day a win’s a win and as long as I’m active, I’m happy.”

David says he hopes to have one fight, possibly in September, before hopefully getting that British title shot but said if not then he would look at another international title shot to keep him ticking over.

Leave a Reply

