Leave a comment

Lee Mould ‘jumping out of his skin’ ahead of second pro fight

Sunderland’s Lee Mould will fight in his second professional fight next week on Phil Jeffries’ promoted show Summer Rumble 2.

The show on July 15 will be at the home of Lee’s favourite football club – Sunderland – and Lee cannot wait for the big day.

“It’s great to be on a bill at the Stadium of Light because I’m usually here watching Sunderland but now everyone will be there watching me box. Been in Sunderland means I’m going to have loads of support there. I’ve already sold a lot of tickets so I just want to get the win now.

“I’m not nervous at the minute but I probably will be just before the fight. At the minute I’m just really focused on training and making sure I am ready to get in that ring.The preperation is going really well. There is a few of us from Mal’s (Mal Gates) gym on the bill so we are training together and sparing together, which makes my motivation sky-high.”

Lee’s opponent will be Kristian Laight from Warwickshire who is vastly more experienced than the Hylton Castle amateur. Laight has over 100 fights to his name but only six of them are victories. However, of his 125 defeats only four have been via knockout.

Despite this Lee insists he doesn’t want to pay too much attention to who his opponent is.

Lee said: “I never ask who I’m fighting. They tell my coach and trainer and they tell me but I just get in that ring and fight them. I know he’s a journeyman and I’ll be expected to win, but I’m not too bothered about the knockout.

“If it comes then I’ll take it but I wont go looking for it. Sometimes when you look for it you can become sloppy and you’ve just got to let it come naturally if it comes at all. You don’t get paid for over-time in boxing though so if a knockout comes I’ll certainly take it.

“I’m really enjoying the step up from amateur to the pro ranks and to be honest I found my first fight a lot easier than my amateur fights because I was fighting top-class amateurs. I know my professional opponents will eventually get better though and I’m hoping that I’m good enough to make that step up.”

Mould now trains full-time at Mal’s gym in Harton & Westoe after quitting his job at Nissan to dedicate himself fully to a career in boxing.

Lee knows it’s just a matter of getting the experience and training hard, which is something that his coach, Mal Gates, has absolutely no problem with.

Gates, pictured above with Lee after his first pro fight, said: “Lee was fantastic in his first fight and did everything we worked on in training. The lad was a lot more experienced but Lee went out and did a great job. His shots to the body were great and he is a natural body puncher.

“As soon as i told Lee he was going to be on this show he was buzzing. He’s a Sunderland boy and lives just ten minutes from the stadium so he’s well up for this one. Preparation is going really well. We’ve finished what we call are core training and we’ve got all the fitness work done and he’s been sparring with a few lads from Hartlepool who are also on the bill.

“Lee is fantastic in the gym. He’s one of these kids where you have to tell him to stop because he just wants to keep going and going. He’ll be more than ready for this fight though he’s absolutely jumping out of his skin for it.”

Mal though, carries a very similar attitude to Lee when it comes to his opponent.

He said: “He’s boxing a very experienced opponent in Kristian Laight but I tend to focus on my guy and what he’s capable of rather than what his opponent is and I know Lee is more than capable of beating him.”

Tickets are still available for the show on July 15 on 07747611020. Alan Thompson of ACT Construction will be sponsoring the event and without him and other sponsors these great shows could not go ahead.

Leave a Reply

