Leave a comment

Third national title for Houghton’s Josh Kelly

Josh Kelly avenged a defeat in the CYP finals to take home the national junior ABA title.

Kelly was narrowly defeated last year by three points by Thomas Beaney (West Ham) but took full advantage of his chance for revenge by dominating this rematch, winning by a clear 11 point margin.

Josh boxed amazingly to bring home the golden gloves. He worked well with his jab, was quick to the punch as Beaney stepped in and in the latter stages picked it up and started throwing more to both head and body.

Following the fight, the Houghton boxer said: “I feel I boxed great was fit and strong and boxed well behind the jab. Since he narrowly beat me in the CYP finals by three points and is a decent boxer, to win comfortably by 11 points was unreal, I feel on top of the world.

“I thought I was strong and took the centre of the ring timing him with a textbook jab and right uppercut as he stepped in. Next year I’m eligible for the senior ABA’s and I’ve already started fighting open seniors. I’ve had two fights, won one and narrowly lost on a majority decision against the senior aba finalist, so I’m feeling very positive about entering the competition next year.”

As for the rest of this year Josh is looking towards his second Tri-nation title. on top of that he is also looking forward to the ultimate dream.

“The ultimate dream in any amateur boxer’s career is to reach the Olympics. Now I’m at the top of boxing, I feel as though with a lot of hard work and dedication, I can reach it! Obviously after that turning pro and really making my name in boxing would be a dream come true.

“I would just like to thank my dad, Ray Major and Kenny Allen for all the training and effort they put in, helping me reach these stages…hopefully there’s more to come!”

Leave a Reply

