1 Comment

Fourth English title is one more step towards ultimate dream for Isaac Macleod

Team GB development boxer Isaac Macleod took another step towards his Olympic dream by winning his fourth english title in Wakefield on Saturday.

Macleod is part of the Team GB development squad being trained and conditioned with a view to participating in future events such as the Commonwealth Games and the Olympics.

Isaac trains usually every other weekend in Sheffield with the best boxing coaches in the country but had taken time away to compete in this years junior ABA’s and having reached the final, he put in another dominant performance against West Ham’s Jordan Reynolds to take home his fourth consecutive English title.

As in the last rounds, Isaac was once again dominant in all three rounds. Showing his skill and tactical awareness by picking shots well and throwing good combination punches moving well and at the right time between the body and the head.

Reynolds, who Isaac also beat in last years national final, is no weak opponent and after a slow start he did pick things up and started coming at Isaac more. However, Isaac never really lost control of the fight as was showcased in the third when he landed a sweet left hook to the head as Reynolds was on his way out.

Isaac took the bout on a points score of 23-15 and said after: “I am over the moon with what I have achieved. It’s taken four years, most people dream of just the one english title but I’ve went four times better.

” I feel I boxed well but still feel there was room for improvement. I hurt my hand at the end of the first round which didn’t help, but I just had to improvise & slightly adapt my technique. Only me & my coach knew my hand was injured. After speaking to people after the fight they told me they didn’t even realise I had injured my hand as it didn’t affect my performance & victory.”

The Sunderland ABC boxer said that the swelling on the hand had gone down, movement had improved and he would be more than ready for his next opponent.

He also revealed that after coming second in the World Championships last year he was looking to go one step further this time around.

“Don’t get me wrong it’s an amazing achievement to win another English title but these are mere stepping-stones to what my goal for this year is, which is to be world champion!”

 

One comment on “Fourth English title is one more step towards ultimate dream for Isaac Macleod

  1. Another brilliant win for Sunderlands Olympic hope Isaac Macleod. A real prospect, I havnt been this excited about a Amatuer since Frankie Gavin. Cant Wait For Rio 2016!

Leave a Reply

