Leave a comment

It’s ‘Do or Die’ for Sunderland’s David Dolan

David Dolan, central in Lonsdale T-shirt with others on the bill including Michael Hunter next to him in the middle.

 

Coach Neil Fannen has described David Dolan’s comeback as ‘do or die’.

David Dolan fights on the Phil Jeffries’ promoted event ‘Reincarnation’ for the first time since losing to Jon Lewis Dickinson in a Norther Area Cruiserweight title fight last July.

Dolan also lost the fight before that against Terry Dunston after being forced to retire and Fannen said, at a press conference promoting the event, that losing three in a row was ‘just not an option.’

The Sunderland-born cruiserweight boxes Tayar Mehmed, the Bulgarian who took up-and-coming British boxer Danny Price all the way in their clash in January – losing on points. Fannen always wanted a tough clash for Dolan but he is confident that he will pull it off.

“I am very confident David will win. I have never been one to make excuses and I wont start now but David has had some bad luck in his last two fights. First he got the injury and then that affected his preparation for the Dickinson fight. But David is looking very good in the gym ahead of this fight and I know he can win.

“It’s a big fight for him, he’s 32 now. He’s still got plenty left but this is do or die for him because you can’t lose three in a row at this stage.”

Dolan also revealed at the conference that he too is confident of the win.

“I’m really looking forward to this fight. It’ll be nice to get back in the ring after nearly a year out. I’ve been training hard and sparring a lot so I’m hoping ring rust wont be an issue, but we’ll see how it goes on the day.

“It’s hard to know how long I’ve been training for because I was in the gym long before I found out about the fight. Then obviously when I found out about the fight my work-rate in training was upped. I feel great, the best I’ve felt in a long time and I’d love to knock him  out but I’m not expecting an easy bout and wouldn’t mind a few rounds under the belt.”

Dolan’s coach has also revealed how unhappy he would be in the unwanted situation that he should lose.

Fannen said: “No one works harder than David. He is so dedicated that I could tell him to swim the ocean and he’d do it no questions asked. In four-and-a-half years we’ve never had a disagreement and I’d be really sad if this did prove to be his last fight.

“I’d just miss generally having David around. He’s been training really hard for this though and i am confident we’ll get him back on track with this one. He’s still ranked highly in the British ranks (7th) so who knows maybe we can finally get him that British title; he deserves it.”

David’s comeback against Mehmed will be contested over four rounds on an extremely entertaining bill full of North East talent. Up and coming Gary Fox will also fight on the bill, with the main event being the much-anticipated return of former European champion Michael Hunter, after  two years out.

Hunter is said to be raring to go after not being in action since losing to Jason Booth in a British super bantamweight title fight back in October 2009.

Promoter Phil Jeffries said: “I’m really looking forward to the event as it is my first promoted event in Hartlepool. We’re expecting a sell-out on the day so there will be a fantastic atmosphere. I’m really looking forward to Hunter’s fight. Having him on the bill is great for the show as is David Dolan who has a tough opponent from Europe. All in all it promises to be a great event.”

A limited number of tickets will be available on the door but you can also get them by contacting Phil Jeffries before hand. Doors open at the Hartlepool Borough Hall at 1pm.

Leave a Reply

