1 Comment

Durham welterweight Gary Fox’s views on Brook v Hatton

Tonight sees one of the biggest British boxing matches of the year.

Billed as the ‘War of the Roses’, Sheffield’s undefeated ‘special one’ Kell Brook takes on Manchester’s Matthew Hatton in a welterweight contest for both the WBA Inter-Continental title and IBF International title.

Not only that, the fight will also decide who is the best welterweight in the country and has boxing fans on the edge of their seats with anticipation. Many have had their say on the match-up and the latest is the North East’s very own welterweight Gary Fox.

Fox, 26, is preparing for his seventh professional fight and speaking ahead of it at a press conference Fox backed Kell Brook to get the win.

“Welterweight is such a good division at the minute. I world level you’ve got Mayweather and Pacquiao, will it happen or won’t it? Now in Britain we’ve been building up for this one.

But I do think Brook will win. He’s undefeated and he’s the favourite for a reason. It is a tough one to predict and Hatton is a good boxer but I expect to see Brook win by stoppage, but I couldn’t predict when he’ll get that stoppage. It’s going to be an exciting fight!”

Fishburn-born Fox is on the bill of Phil Jeffries’ event in Hartlepool next Sunday – the 25th – where he will fight Neil Hepper. However, it appears Fox is moving away from the welterweight division.

“I have been boxing at welterweight but I have cut right down and I’m going to be boxing at light welterweight next Sunday. The hope then is to drop down again to Lightweight for the summer when hopefully I will challenge for the Northern-area title.

“If I can win that and defend it a few times then who knows the English and British titles may not be too far away.”

Fox is not looking too far ahead though because he knows this is going to be a difficult fight.

“This is going to be a big step up for me. My last few fights have been against journeymen who haven’t boxed much but rather just covered up and frustrated me. I know Neil will come to win this one. I don’t know too much about him but I know he had a good amateur record so I am expecting a really good challenge.”

Tickets for the event, that will also include comebacks for both former European champion Michael Hunter and Sunderland’s David Dolan, are still available but there are limited numbers available with the show expected to be a sell-out. Tickets, costing £30, are available from Phil Jeffries or by calling (0191) 5640202

One comment on “Durham welterweight Gary Fox’s views on Brook v Hatton

  1. Hatton has real heart. Being outclassed but refuses to quit and still looks strong despite lots of punishment. boxing

Leave a Reply

