1 Comment

Sunderland’s Kirk Goodings impresses in Glasgow

Sunderland-born boxer Kirk Goodings used the big stage of a world title fight to beat Sid Razak.

Goodings, 22, won on points against a journeyman who has been knocked out only four times in a 90-fight career.

However despite not being able to end the bout before the allotted time, Goodings did win every round resulting in a 60-54 points decision.

The fight was on the undercard of Ricky Burns’ first defence of his WBO world lightweight title and was the Sunderland boxer’s first six-rounder, after stepping up from four rounds.

The boxer, now training at the Peacock Gym in East London, didn’t find the step up difficult as he has been working with a world-class coach in Tunde Ajeyi and has also been getting extra strength and condition training with Grapplefits Barry Gibson of Sunderland.

Of his performance he said: ” I felt good nice and sharp, fit and strong and Tunde was pleased with my performance and said I boxed very well. I had my tactics right from the start just listened to what Tunde told me and carried it out, if I’m honest I shut him out I used my speed and power and he covered up, and he didn’t really open up and throw punches.”

Goodings, a lightweight, did not have his fight shown on BoxNationTv despite the Burns fight being televised but Goodings said he isn’t too disappointed about it.

“I can’t get disappointed really just have to be patient I know I’ll have my day and I will be televised. Don’t get me wrong it would be very helpful towards my career, but I’ll just keep working hard and winning”

Kirk also said he doesn’t know when his next fight will be but said Tunde Ajeyi will know what’s next and he will talk to Frank Warren soon to discuss his next fight.

One comment on “Sunderland’s Kirk Goodings impresses in Glasgow

  1. That was a backward step for young kirk he boxed Sid Razak. in his first fight he will learn nothing frighten journeymen over and over again he should try get on all the north east shows to build a fan base he is going no where Warren will step him up with one of his good fighters and that will be kirk finished ,he is not fight en enough he should ask his self why best look to him

Leave a Reply

