Leave a comment

Step up for Kirk Goodings in Glasgow

Sunderland-born lightweight Kirk Goodings fights his first six rounder in Glasgow on Saturday on the undercard of Ricky Burns’ WBO lightweight title defence.

The former Sunderland ABC amateur, who won his first six fights over four rounds, but faces a big test against journeyman Sid Razak in his first contest over six rounds.

Goodings should be in good shape though because only one of his first six fights didn’t last the distance. He said:

“I feel great I’ve done everything Tunde [Ajeyi – Coach] has told me to do so I have no worries what so ever. I expect him to come and take the win if he thinks he can get it but I’m going to win the fight because I’m on a road to becoming a world champion and no one is stopping me.

“I train too hard, give too much love and have made too many sacrifices not to become world champion. I have a great team around me who make me smile and happy in my camp which helps things flow better.”

Kirk has so far gone pretty much under the radar since turning professional over two years ago, but his fight on Saturday will be live on BoxNationTV and is a massive opportunity to raise awareness of himself.

After his first five fights Goodings moved to London and beat off competition to earn a promotional deal under Frank Warren after winning ‘Camp 24’ – boxing’s version of the X-Factor.

He trains in East London at the famous Peacock Gym with trainer Tunde Ajeyi who he thanks a lot for all his hard work and patience with him.

“Tunde Ajayi is the most talented trainer I’ve met. I’ve improved leaps and bounds since being with him. Regarding my future, well that’s up to Tunde. I listen to him he is the superior so what ever he thinks is the next best move for me I’ll do. I know he has my best interest at heart and will look after me.”

Kirk started boxing when he was 10 because he attended Barnes Primary School, which is where Sunderland ABC train. He had his first fight for Sunderland when he was 11 and fought for them till he was 19 when he turned pro.

The 22 year-old said: “I didn’t really train hard as an amateur so didn’t achieve anything apart from a decent record. But now I’m grown up and I take the game serious. I train hard everyday without fail. I train like a world champion because I really am and one day I’ll have that WBC belt, powerful thing to say but I truly believe it!”

Kirk also asked if he could thank a few people. He said: “I’d thank all my fans that support me; my strength and conditioning coach in Sunderland, Barry Gibson of Grapplefit; my sponsors Benfeild Motor Group and Alldec Northern ltd; my family for being there; and Tunde for all the hard work and patience he puts in.”

Leave a Reply

