1 Comment

Tony Jeffries misses out on Olympic Torch

Sunderland’s Olympic boxing medal winner Tony Jeffries revealed today that he will not be carrying the Olympic torch when it comes to Sunderland in June.

Jeffries is the only sportsman from Sunderland ever to win an Olympic medal following his bronze medal success in Beijing in 2008. However, he was told that his application came too late.

The boxer spoke of his disappointment:

“I am gutted that I won’t be the one carrying the Olympic Torch when it hits the North East this summer, especially when it passes through our city of Sunderland.

“Without trying to sound big-headed, I’m Sunderland’s first and only Olympic medallist from any sport. Also I’m officially a proud ambassador of the city.”

He added: “I’ve been bringing national TV to the city whenever I have fought here, four times as a professional and once as an amateur.”

The torch will be across the UK by an estimated 8,000 people who have inspired the community where they live.

Although the torch-bearers have been informed of their role, they are still undergoing security checks before a public announcement is made.

Tony, 26, said: “I would definitely fly back from USA to do that as I know I won’t be fighting at that time. I asked my sister to try and get confirmation about it so I could try and book a flight.

“She emailed a few people at the city council who said that the people who are carrying the torch already know who they are.

“They had to apply by the end of December 2011, so it was out of the council’s hands, but the lady on the email and said they would still like me to be part of it in some way. I feel a bit daft for automatically thinking they would have chosen me.”

(Source: Sunderland Echo)

One comment on “Tony Jeffries misses out on Olympic Torch

  1. I genuinely enjoy reading through on this website , it contains fantastic articles .

Leave a Reply

