1 Comment

Macleod makes Team GB development squad

Sunderland ABC boxer Isaac Macleod has been selected for the Team GB development squad.

The 17 year old received confirmation yesterday that following his spell in Sheffield last weekend, he had successfully earned a place in the squad.

Macleod has been on trials and specific training for months to prove his quality to the coaches and this selection means he will be in contention to compete for Great Britain at the Commonwealth Games in Glasgow in 2014. Looking ahead he should also be in contention for a place at the 2016 Olympics in Rio, Brazil.

To help him with his development, Isaac will now receive funding from UK Sport which uses funds from the exchequer and the National Lottery to aid in the development of young sports stars in the UK.

Isaac said: “I am over the moon to be selected. It means I am going to get paid for doing what I love most. The training was hard but obviously it was worth it.

“I’d like to prove myself worthy of a place in the Commonwealth Games squad. I don’t think I will be too young.

“I think I can win a gold medal but I don’t think I will turn professional straight away.”

He added: “One of my ambitions is to win a gold medal at the Olympics. I would like to compete at both the Commonwealth and the Olympic games because I just want to prove how good I really am, then I can think about going professional”

One comment on “Macleod makes Team GB development squad

  1. […] trails in Sheffield, Isaac was confirmed as a member of the development squad last month, with a view to competing at both the 2014 Commonwealth Games and the 2016 Olympic […]

Leave a Reply

